• SSTN Admin

A Quick History of the Yankees General Managers And Their Championships

by Paul Semendinger

April 24, 2021


Yankees General Managers Since 1920 (with championships noted)

Ed Barrow, 1921-44: 23 seasons, 10 World Championships

Larry MacPhail, 1945-47: 1 World Championship

George Weiss, 1948-1960: 12 seasons, 8 World Championships

Roy Hamey, 1961-63: 3 Seasons, 2 World Championships

Ralph Houk, 1964-66

Dan Topping, Jr., 1966

Lee MacPhail, 1967-73

Gabe Paul, 1974-1977: 4 seasons, 1 World Championship

Cedric Tallis, 1978-79: 2 seasons, 1 World Championship

Gene Michael, 1980-81

Bill Bergesch, 1982-83

Murray Cook, 1984

Clyde King, 1985-86

Woody Woodard, 1987

Lou Piniella, 1988

Bob Quinn, 1988-89

Harding Peterson, 1990

Gene Michael, 1990-1995

Bob Watson, 1996-97: 2 seasons, 1 World Championship

Brian Cashman, 1998-Present: 23 seasons, 4 World Championships

#GeorgeWeiss #EdBarrow #BrianCashman #RalphHouk #GeneralManagers

The Least Among Them.png

Start Spreading the News is the place for some of the very best analysis and insight focusing primarily on the New York Yankees.

(Please note that we are not affiliated with the Yankees and that the news, perspectives, and ideas are entirely our own.)


Have a question for the Weekly Mailbag?

Click below or e-mail:

Scattering the Ashes.jpeg

SSTN is proudly affiliated with Wilson Sporting Goods! Check out our press release here, and support us by using the affiliate links below: