top of page
  • Writer's pictureSSTN Admin

BN: BBWAA Names Henderson & Carroll as ROY's

Breaking News: Both Gunnar Henderson (BAL) and Corbin Carroll (ARZ) have been unanimously named the 2023 ROY's by the BBWAA!





Per the BBWAA, Gunnar Henderson won the American League Rookie of the Year award unanimously, with all 30 1st place votes. This makes him the 13th unanimous AL winner, the 8th Baltimore Oriole winner, and the first ever Baltimore Oriole to win the ROY with a unanimous vote.

Other unanimous AL winners were: Carlton Fisk (1972), Mark McGwire (1987), Sandy Alomar Jr. (1990), Tim Salmon (1993), Derek Jeter (1996), Nomar Garciaparra (1997), Evan Longoria (2008), Mike Trout (2012), Jose Abreu (2014), Aaron Judge (2017), Yordan Alvarez (2019) and Kyle Lewis (2020).

Other Baltimore Orioles winners were: Roy Sievers (1949 with the Browns, who became the Orioles in 1954), Ron Hanson (1960), Curt Blefary (1965), Al Bumbry (1973), Eddie Murray (1977), Cal Ripken Jr. (1982), and Gregg Olson (1989).

The AL voting went as follows:


Per the BBWAA, Corbin Carroll won the National League Rookie of the Year award unanimously, with all 30 1st place votes. This makes him the 14th unanimous NL winner and the first ever Diamondback to win the award.

Other unanimous NL winners were: Frank Robinson (1956), Orlando Cepeda (1958), Willie McCovey (1959), Vince Coleman (1985), Benito Santiago (1987), Mike Piazza (1993), Raul Mondesi (1994), Scott Rolen (1997) Albert Pujols (2001), Craig Kimbrel (2011), Kris Bryant (2015), Corey Seager (2016) and Cody Bellinger (2017).

The NL voting went as follows:


This is the 5th time that the AL and NL winners of the ROY were both unanimous. Other years were:

  • Mark McGwire (OAK) & Benito Santiago (SDP) in 1987

  • Tim Salmon (LAA) & Mike Piazza (LAD) in 1993

  • Nomar Garciaparra (BOS) & Scott Rolen (PHI) in 1997

  • Aaron Judge (NYY) & Cody Bellinger (LAD) in 2017

1 comentario

14 nov 2023

Both very worthy of the honor.

Me gusta
dr sem.png

Start Spreading the News is the place for some of the very best analysis and insight focusing primarily on the New York Yankees.

(Please note that we are not affiliated with the Yankees and that the news, perspectives, and ideas are entirely our own.)


Have a question for the Weekly Mailbag?

Click below or e-mail:

SSTN is proudly affiliated with Wilson Sporting Goods! Check out our press release here, and support us by using the affiliate links below:

Scattering the Ashes.jpeg

"Scattering The Ashes has all the feels. Paul Russell Semendinger's debut novel taps into every emotion. You'll laugh. You'll cry. You'll reexamine those relationships that give your life meaning." — Don Burke, writer at The New York Post

The Least Among Them.png

"This charming and meticulously researched book will remind you of baseball’s power to change and enrich lives far beyond the diamond."

—Jonathan Eig, New York Times best-selling author of Luckiest Man, Opening Day, and Ali: A Life

From Compton to the Bronx.jpg

"A young man from Compton rises to the highest levels of baseball greatness.

Considered one of the classiest baseball players ever, this is Roy White's story, but it's also the story of a unique period in baseball history when the Yankees fell from grace and regained glory and the country dealt with societal changes in many ways."


We are excited to announce our new sponsorship with FOCO for all officially licensed goods!

FOCO Featured:
carlos rodon bobblehead foco.jpg
bottom of page