• SSTN Admin

IBWAA Selects Verlander, DeGrom in 2019 Cy Young Vote

Los Angeles – The Internet Baseball Writers Association of America (IBWAA) announced the winners in its Cy Young category Wednesday, with the Houston Astros’ Justin Verlander winning the group’s American League prize, and Jacob deGrom, of the New York Mets, being selected in the National League vote.

This is the 11th annual election for the IBWAA in the Cy category.

Election results are as follows:

AL Cy Young Award

1st Place: Justin Verlander, Houston Astros – 718 points.

2nd Place: Gerrit Cole, Houston Astros – 648

3rd Place: Charlie Morton, Tampa Bay Rays – 259

4th Place: Shane Bieber, Cleveland Indians – 178

5th Place: Mike Minor, Texas Rangers – 67

NL Cy Young Award

1st Place: Jacob deGrom, New York Mets – 684 points

2nd Place: Max Scherzer, Washington Nationals – 400

3rd Place: Hyun-Jin Ryu, Los Angeles Dodgers – 300

4th Place: Stephen Strasburg, Washington Nationals – 287

5th Place: Jack Flaherty, St. Louis Cardinals – 102

Verlander received 75 of 127 first-place votes (59.06%). Others receiving first-place votes include Cole, with 52 (40.94%).

deGrom received 77 first-place votes (62.10%). Others receiving first-place votes include Scherzer, with 25 (20.16%), Ryu (13, 10.48%) and Strasburg (6, 4.84%).

Ballot tabulations by Brian Wittig & Associates, using the Borda Method.

The IBWAA was established July 4, 2009 to organize and promote the growing online baseball media, and to serve as a digital alternative to the Baseball Writers’ Association of America (BBWAA). Voting for full season awards takes place in September of each year, with selections being announced in November. The IBWAA also holds a Hall of Fame election in December of each year, with results being announced the following January.

Among others, IBWAA members include Jim Bowden, Pedro Moura, Ken Rosenthal and Eno Sarris, The Athletic; Tim Brown, Yahoo! Sports; Craig Calcaterra, NBC Sports Hardball Talk; Bill Chuck,; Chris De Luca, Chicago Sun-Times; Jon Heyman, Fancred; Tyler Kepner, New York Times; Danny Knobler, Bleacher Report; Kevin Kennedy; Kostya Kennedy, Sports Illustrated; Brian Kenny, MLBN; Will Leitch, New York Magazine; Bruce Markusen, Hardball Times; Ross Newhan; Dayn Perry and Matt Snyder,; Tom Hoffarth, Los Angeles Times; J.P. Hoornstra Los Angeles Daily News; Tracy Ringolsby,; David Schoenfield,; Bill Arnold and Joseph Posnanski.

Note: Paul Semendinger and Ethan Semendinger of Start Spreading the News are voting members of the IBWAA.

Start Spreading the News is the place for some of the very best analysis and insight focusing primarily on the New York Yankees.

(Please note that we are not affiliated with the Yankees and that the news, perspectives, and ideas are entirely our own.)

SSTN is proudly affiliated with Wilson Sporting Goods! Check out our press release here, and support us by using the affiliate links below: