• SSTN Admin

The Results Are In: IBWAA 2021 Award Voting – Rookie of the Year

Two weeks ago I revealed my ballots for the various end of the year awards with the IBWAA. This week the IBWAA is announcing their 2021 award winners!

Check inside to see how the IBWAA voted and the comparisons to my ballot.

Today they revealed the AL and NL Rookies of the Year!




The Internet Baseball Writers Association of America (IBWAA) announced the winners of the IBWAA Rookie of the Year awards Monday: Randy Arozarena of the Tampa Bay Rays and Jonathan India of the Cincinnati Reds. This is the IBWAA’s 13th annual election for these awards. All IBWAA members were eligible to vote.

Election results are as follows:

American League:

1st Place: Randy Arozarena, Tampa Bay Rays- 139 points

2nd Place: Adolis García, Texas Rangers- 76 points

3rd Place: Wander Franco, Tampa Bay Rays- 56 points

National League:

1st Place: Jonathan India, Cincinnati Reds- 191 points

2nd Place: Trevor Rogers, Miami Marlins- 112 points

3rd Place: Dylan Carlson, St. Louis Cardinals- 31 points

The IBWAA endeavors to serve the baseball writing community, representing more than 700 baseball content creators. We strive to increase visibility, networking, and opportunities for all of our members. Voting for full season awards takes place in September of each year, with selections announced in November. The IBWAA also holds Hall of Fame, preseason prediction, and All-Star Game voting.

Association membership is open to any and all Internet baseball writers and content creators. For more information please visit


How’d I Stack Up?

I correctly voted for the 1st and 2nd place finishers in the American League and I got all of the 3 finishers for the National League correct (though not in the correct order).

While the official number of voters was not released, we can assume the number of voters for this year. With 9 total points to award (5 for 1st place, 3 for 2nd place, 1 for 3rd place) we can estimate that around 35-50 voters contributed to the AL and/or NL Rookie of the Year vote. (Unfortunately the full results beyond whoever placed 3rd in each league were not announced.)

If so, it would appear that my ballot alone did not influence the final standings of this years ballot. (Unless of course Dylan Carlson beat out the 4th place NL Rookie by the point I gave to him.) For reference, my ballot looked like this:

American League:

1st Place: Randy Arozarena, Tampa Bay Rays

2nd Place: Adolis García, Texas Rangers

3rd Place: Luis Garcia, Houston Astros

National League:

1st Place: Trevor Rogers, Miami Marlins

2nd Place: Jonathan India, Cincinnati Reds

3rd Place: Dylan Carlson, St. Louis Cardinals

All-in-all, I’m pretty content going 5 for 6 out of my votes and who got placed. It’s nice to get confirmation that my thinking and logic isn’t far beyond the norm of other internet baseball writers and personalities.

If you’re interested, click here to find the complete collection for all of my IBWAA award voting for 2021.

Start Spreading the News is the place for some of the very best analysis and insight focusing primarily on the New York Yankees.

(Please note that we are not affiliated with the Yankees and that the news, perspectives, and ideas are entirely our own.)

SSTN is proudly affiliated with Wilson Sporting Goods! Check out our press release here, and support us by using the affiliate links below: